Cochamó Journal pt. II

© Chris Kalman.

There is a short squat bird I know well who frequents the “Bivy Boulder" in Cochamó Valley’s Anfiteatro. While his latin name escapes me, I refer to him fondly as the "Work Work Work" bird. His call sounds eerily similar to the word, sung slowly at a high pitch, and repeated five times. I’d call him the "Work Work Work Work Work" bird, but I am less verbose than he. This bird has a penchant for early morning serenades, and during the last two weeks-which I spent sleeping beneath a huge boulder in the middle of an enormous cirque of 1,000-meter granite walls-he has been my alarm clock.
As if I needed a reminder! Opening new routes for climbing in Cochamó is a lot of work . . .

- See more at: http://switchbacktravel.com/cochamo-journals-part-2#sthash.QcRabipz.dpuf